Image

“Extinction” is an exhibition curated by Derry Dillon for Visual Centre For Contemporary Art, Carlow. I had the honour to be invited to participate along with 6 other leading irish illustrators in creating work for this show. 

It opened Friday last, 7th June and runs until 8th September.

Each of the 7 illustrators have approached the subject of extinction from a their own unique perspective.

My own piece is based on the poem by Roger McGough, “Let me die a youngmans death”

This poem explains one mans wish to go out with a bang, living the high life and doing as he pleases, burning the candle at both ends as it were and happily paying the price.

It’s kind of dark but it has always made me laugh- probably says more about me than I care to know, but there you go.

The image above is one of a series of 3, this depicts the fourth verse.

Here is a link to the text 

http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/let-me-die-a-youngman-s-death/

The full list of illustrators goes like this

Olivia Golden, Stephen Maurice Graham, Niamh Sharkey, Steve Simpson, Phil Mc Darby and The Project Twins.

Saturday saw a myself, Phil and The Project Twins giving a panel talk.

Our very kind audience even threw up a few questions. 

Verbalising what you do and why in that way is a really useful exercise- I wouldn’t mind doing it another time!

 
