wordsworth2-flat

“Continuous as the stars that shine”
William Wordsworth is not an irish writer but he holds a special place in my heart.
So far as I can recall The Daffodils marked the end of nursery rhymes and the start of poetry for me. It
must have been in second or third class when we were exposed to a piece that didn’t appear in any of our text books.
That being my own experience I was amazed when my four year old came home from preschool reciting the first two verses without pausing.

Friday March 28th is Daffodil Day 2014.
For sixteen years I’ve enjoyed taking part as a street seller but unfortunately I can’t participate in that way this year. Seeing the feeling and generosity with which people give what they can to help another is really heartening. I will be buying a daff or two and I wish all sellers a warm, dry and sundrenched day!

My immediate and extended family have benefited from the services and advice of the Irish Cancer Society (and other organisations) and so this is my piece to remember those who lost their fight to cancer.

Olivia

 

